Contact us

By email : Bernard Vanhove
bernard.vanhove@ose-immuno.com

Academic partnerships aimed at scientific collaboration, and financial support to conduct research programs

OSE Immunotherapeutics benefits from an international network that offers access to the best experts in immunotherapy and transplantation, due to historic academic relationships.

Partnerships in basic research are currently conducted:

  • In Europe with the European Center for Sciences in Transplantation and Immunotherapy (CESTI) (which brings together the clinical teams of the University Hospital Institute and the teams of the INSERM Center for Research in Transplantation and Immunology – CRTI – INSERM 1UMR064), the Regional University Hospital and the University of Nantes, other French CNRS or INSERM teams, the « Children’s Cancer Research Institute » of Vienna (Austria), the “Biomedical Primate Research Center” in Netherlands and the Oxford University,
  • In the U.S. with the Maryland University in Baltimore and the « Ben Towne Center for Childhood Cancer Research » in Seattle (Washington).

This international network of excellence has resulted in promising data having been published in key scientific publications, resulting in increased visibility of the company’s achievements (Poirier et al. Science Translational Médicine 2010).

OSE Immunotherapeutics is supported by major institutional organizations : Pays de la Loire Territoires d’Innovation, Atlanpole Biothérapies, Bpifrance, and by national funding : « Prime d’aménagement du territoire », a funding for regional development.

OSE-127 (Effi-7), Interleukin-7 Antagonist (IL-7R), developed in autoimmune diseases through the consortium EFFIMab

OSE-127 (Effi-7) is a humanized monoclonal antibody targeting CD 127 receptor, the alpha chain of the Interleukin 7 receptor (IL-7R), with proof of concept confirmed in vivo in several auto-immune models.

This collaborative program, co-financed by Bpifrance, is headed by OSE Immunotherapeutics as leader of the consortium to develop OSE-127 (Effi-7), a monoclonal immunomodulatory antibody targeting the CD127 receptor, the alpha chain of the interleukin-7 receptor (IL-7R).

The product is under preclinical phase in ulcerative colitis and the funding from Bpifrance will enable to cover its development until the phase 2 clinical stage. The total amount of the OSE-127 program, being developed by OSE Immunotherapeutics in collaboration with INSERM and Nantes University Hospital, is of €20 million with €9.1 million allotted by Bpifrance.

In June 2017, the Company announced a new milestone related to the finalization of significant preclinical results for OSE-127 and translational data on the high expression of IL-7R in biopsies from patients with ulcerative colitis These data will be used to support the next clinical applications planned in inflammatory bowel diseases (results presented at the international congress of immunology of FOCIS – Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies * – Press release of June 15, 2017). In addition, the manufacturing process of OSE-127 is finalized, making it possible to advance towards pilot batch production step.

* “IL-7 pathway controls human T cell homing to the gut and culminates in inflammatory bowel disease mucosa”

OSE-703 (Effi-3), a cancer therapy targeting IL-7R, under a strategic multi-year research collaboration with Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York

OSE-703 (Effi-3) is a humanized cytotoxic monoclonal antibody directed against the extracellular domain of the alpha-chain of the receptor for interleukin-7 (CD127), cytotoxic for human cells expressing CD127.

In June 2017, the Company has entered into a multi-year research collaboration on OSE-703, a therapy targeting IL-7R, with Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) in New York.

The research program is conducted by physician-scientist Prasad S. Adusumilli, MD, FACS, a thoracic surgeon with expertise in tumor immunology and a focus on the development of chimeric antigen receptor T-cell (CAR T-cell) immunotherapy.

The goal of this research collaboration is to explore IL-7R directed immunotherapy OSE-703 for solid tumors with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) as the primary cancer model. From a large cohort of NSCLCs*, it has been shown that IL-7R was overexpressed in this type of cancer and associated with poor prognosis.

* Suzuki et al, J Clin Oncol. 2013 Feb 1; 31(4): 490–498.

OSE-172 (Effi-DEM), a new generation immune checkpoint inhibitor targeting suppressor myeloid cells via SIRPα receptor, developed in immuno-oncology through EFFI-CLIN collaborative program

Tumours have the particularity of secreting molecules that allow the recruitment and/or generation of suppressor cells that prevent the immune system from eliminating tumour cells. Among the major players in immune dysfunctions promoting tumour growth, pro-tumour and suppressor myeloid cells have been identified (MDSC or Myeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells / TAM or Tumour-Associated Macrophages).

OSE Immunotherapeutics was the first to identify the SIRP-alpha target (Signal Regulatory Protein alpha) as a major checkpoint for myeloid cells. The company has developed a selective SIRP-alpha antagonist antibody that transforms the tumour microenvironment by blocking suppressor cells and activating anti-tumour effector cells.

In July 2017, the Company has received €9.2 million grant from the “Projets de R&D Structurants Pour la Compétitivité” (PSPC) of the “Invest in the Future Program” (PIA). This program is overseen by the General commissariat of investment (CGI) and led by Bpifrance.

OSE Immunotherapeutics leads the consortium collaborating on this project named EFFI-CLIN aiming at developing a new generation of checkpoint inhibitor in cancer immunotherapy. The consortium also includes the European Center for Transplantation and Immunotherapy (CESTI), a public organization based in Nantes (France) and HISTALIM, a SME based in Montpellier (France).

EFFI-CLIN will evaluate the safety and the clinical efficacy of new cancer immunotherapy OSE-172 as a monotherapy and in combination in various indications where myeloid cells represent a poor prognosis factor. The project will include in particular the product manufacturing compliant with pharmaceutical standards, translational studies conducted from tumour tissues to measure the presence of immunological targets including SIRP-alpha, and a clinical program planned until the phase 2.

Nous contacter

Par email : Bernard Vanhove
bernard.vanhove@ose-immuno.com

Des partenariats académiques pour une collaboration scientifique et un soutien financier des programmes de recherche

OSE Immunotherapeutics bénéficie d’un réseau international lui permettant un accès continu aux meilleurs experts de la transplantation et de l’immunothérapie.

Des partenariats en recherche fondamentale sont menés :

En Europe, notamment avec le Centre Européen des Sciences de Transplantation et Immunothérapie (CESTI) qui regroupe les équipes cliniques de l’Institut Hospitalo-Universitaire (IHU) et les chercheurs du Centre INSERM de Recherche en Transplantation et Immunologie (CRTI- INSERM 1UMR064), mais aussi le CHRU et l’Université de Nantes, d’autres équipes françaises du CNRS ou de l’INSERM, le « Children’s Cancer Research Institute » de Vienne en Autriche, le « Biomedical Primate Research Center » au Pays-Bas, l’Université d’Oxford ;
Et aux Etats-Unis avec l’Université du Maryland à Baltimore et le « Ben Towne Center for Childhood Cancer Research » à Seattle (Washington).
Ce réseau international d’excellence a apporté des résultats prometteurs faisant l’objet de publications de pointe, donnant une visibilité accrue aux développements réalisés (Poirier et al. Science Translational Médicine 2010).

OSE Immunotherapeutics est soutenue :

  • Par plusieurs collectivités locales : Pays de la Loire Territoires d’Innovation, Atlanpole Biothérapies, Bpifrance,
  • Par l’Etat via la Prime d’aménagement au territoire,
  • Et par l’Union Européenne, grâce au financement du FEDER et FP7.

OSE-127 (Effi-7), antagoniste du récepteur à l’interleukine-7 (IL-7R), développé dans les maladies auto-immunes dans le cadre du consortium EFFIMab

OSE-127 (Effi-7) est un anticorps monoclonal immunomodulateur qui vise le récepteur CD127, la chaîne alpha du récepteur de l’Interleukine 7, avec des preuves de concept établies in vivo dans plusieurs modèles auto-immuns.

Ce programme collaboratif, mené par OSE Immunotherapeutics en tant que chef de file, permet le développement d’OSE-127 (Effi-7), un anticorps monoclonal humanisé qui cible le récepteur CD127, la chaîne alpha du récepteur de l’interleukine-7.

Le produit est actuellement en phase préclinique dans la rectocolite hémorragique. Ce financement Bpifrance permettra d’aller jusqu’en clinique de phase 2. Le montant total du programme OSE-127, développé par OSE Immunotherapeutics en collaboration avec l’INSERM et le CHU de Nantes, est de 20 millions d’euros avec 9,1 millions d’euros d’aides attribués par Bpifrance.

En juin 2017, la Société a annoncé le franchissement d’une nouvelle étape du développement avec en particulier la finalisation de résultats précliniques probants d’OSE-127 et de données translationnelles relatives à la forte expression du récepteur de l’interleukine 7 dans des biopsies de patients atteints de rectocolite hémorragique, en support des applications cliniques prévues dans les maladies inflammatoires intestinales (résultats présentés au congrès international d’immunologie de FOCIS – Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies* – Communiqué de presse du 15 juin 2017). Par ailleurs, le process de production du produit est maintenant finalisé, permettant d’avancer vers les étapes de production de lots pilotes.

* “IL-7 pathway controls human T cell homing to the gut and culminates in inflammatory bowel disease mucosa”

OSE-703 (Effi-3), thérapie visant le récepteur à l’IL-7 : accord de collaboration de recherche stratégique pluriannuelle en immuno-oncologie avec le Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

OSE-703 (Effi-3) est un anticorps monoclonal cytotoxique humanisé dirigé contre la partie extracellulaire de la chaîne alpha du récepteur de l’interleukine-7 (CD127), et cytotoxique pour les cellules humaines exprimant CD127.

En juin 2017, OSE Immunotherapeutics a conclu un accord de collaboration de recherche pluriannuelle avec le Memorial Sloan Kettering Center (MSK) de New York portant sur OSE-703 (Effi-3), immunothérapie visant le récepteur à l’IL-7.

Le programme de recherche est mené par le Docteur Prasad S. Adusumilli, FACS, chirurgien thoracique expert en immunologie de la tumeur, et en particulier spécialiste de l’immunothérapie par les cellules CAR T (chimeric antigen receptor T -cell).

L’objectif de cette collaboration de recherche est d’évaluer OSE-703, dans les tumeurs solides avec un premier modèle dans le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules (NSCLC, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer). En effet, une large cohorte de patients atteints de NSCLC* a montré que le récepteur IL-7 était surexprimé dans ce type de cancer et était associé à un mauvais pronostic.

* Suzuki et al, J Clin Oncol. 2013 Feb 1; 31(4): 490–498

OSE-172 (Effi-DEM), checkpoint inhibiteur de nouvelle génération ciblant les cellules myéloïdes suppressives via le récepteur SIRPα, développé dans le cadre du projet collaboratif EFFI-CLIN

Les tumeurs ont la particularité de sécréter des molécules qui permettent le recrutement et/ou la génération de cellules suppressives empêchant le système immunitaire d’éliminer les cellules tumorales.  Parmi les acteurs majeurs dans les dysfonctionnements immunitaires favorisant la croissance tumorale, les cellules myéloïdes
pro-tumorales et suppressives (MDSC ou Myeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells & TAM ou Tumor-Associated Macrophages) ont été identifiées.

OSE Immunotherapeutics a été la première société à identifier la cible SIRP-alpha (SIgnal Regulatory Protein alpha) comme un point de contrôle majeur des cellules myéloïdes. La société a mis au point un anticorps antagoniste sélectif de SIRP-alpha transformant le microenvironnement tumoral du fait d’un blocage des cellules suppressives et d’une activation des cellules effectrices antitumorales.

En juillet 2017, OSE Immunotherapeutics a obtenu un financement de 9,2 millions d’euros dans le cadre de l’appel à projets du Programme d’investissements d’avenir « Projets de recherche et développement Structurants Pour la Compétitivité » (PSPC), piloté par le Commissariat général à l’investissement (CGI) et opéré par Bpifrance, pour développer le produit OSE-172.

Ce projet collaboratif, appelé EFFI-CLIN, est mené par OSE Immunotherapeutics en tant que chef de file pour développer une nouvelle génération d’inhibiteurs de checkpoint en immunothérapie du cancer. Deux partenaires sont engagés à ses côtés : un organisme public, le Centre Européen des Sciences de Transplantation et Immunothérapie (CESTI) à Nantes et une PME, la société HISTALIM à Montpellier.

L’objectif d’EFFI-CLIN est d’étudier la tolérance et l’efficacité clinique d’OSE-172, nouvelle immunothérapie du cancer qui sera évaluée en monothérapie ou en combinaison dans plusieurs indications où la présence de cellules myéloïdes est un facteur de mauvais pronostic. Les étapes prévoient en particulier la fabrication du produit aux normes pharmaceutiques, des études translationnelles menées à partir de tissus tumoraux mesurant la présence de cibles immunologiques dont la cible SIRP-alpha, et un programme clinique prévu jusqu’en phase 2.