An established mechanism of action

FR104 selectively blocks interactions of CD28-CD80/86 and CD28-CD275

  • It inhibits T cell proliferation and synthesis of cytokines (gamma interferon, interleukin 2)
  • It inhibits the response of particular effector T cells (effector memory T cells)
  • It triggers a response from regulator T cells bound to CTLA-4, leading thus to a T cell suppressor activity
  • It induces no spontaneous activation from T cells bound to CD28

FR104, with positive Phase 1 clinical results, is targeted for autoimmune diseases and transplantation

  • FR104 is an immuno-modulator composed of a humanized monovalent Fab’ antibody targeting CD28, a key receptor blocking the destructive function of effector T lymphocytes. These effector T lymphocytes are harmful in the case of autoimmune diseases and transplantation.
  • FR104 specifically blocks the destructive function of effector T lymphocytes without blocking the regulation function of regulator T lymphocytes, thus fostering immuno-tolerance.
  • FR104 fosters induction of immune tolerance in transplantation and autoimmune diseases with T lymphocyte mediation.
  • Arising from OSE Immunotherapeutics R&D, and based on a high-level academic research, FR104 is in development for applications in transplantation and rheumatoid arthritis.  Read more >.

FR104, in development in collaboration with Janssen Biotech (J&J Group, a leading pharmaceutical company), responsible for all clinical development, registration and commercialization activities for FR104, internationally

  • At the end of 2013, with FR104 at a preclinical stage, a global option and license agreement was signed with Janssen Biotech, owned by Johnson & Johnson (J&J Group, a leading pharmaceutical company involved in autoimmune and anti-inflammatory diseases). Janssen exercised this license option in July 2016 and is responsible for the product’s further clinical development, with certain milestone and royalties due to OSE Immunotherapeutics.
  • Positive Phase 1 clinical results with FR104 conducted in healthy subjects published online* in « The Journal of Immunology » (November 2016) have shown a good tolerance and an immunosuppressive activity.
* First-in-Human Study in Healthy Subjects with FR104, a Pegylated Monoclonal Antibody Fragment Antagonist of CD28
Nicolas Poirier, Gilles Blancho, Maryvonne Hiance, Caroline Mary, Tim Van Assche, Jos Lempoels, Steven Ramael, Weirong Wang, Virginie Thepenier, Cecile Braudeau, Nina Salabert, Regis Josien, Ian Anderson, Ian Gourley, Jean-Paul Soulillou, Didier Coquoz and Bernard Vanhove

Mécanisme d’action établi

FR104 inhibe sélectivement les interactions CD28-CD80/86 et celles du CD28-CD275

  • Il inhibe la prolifération des cellules T et la synthèse de cytokines (Interféron gamma, interleukine -2)
  • Il inhibe les réponses de cellules T effectrices particulières (cellules T effectrices mémoires)
  • Il induit une réponse des cellules T régulatrices dépendantes du CTLA-4 aboutissant à une activité T suppressive
  • Il n’induit pas d’activation spontanée des cellules T dépendantes du CD28

FR104 vise les maladies auto-immunes et la transplantation – Des résultats cliniques de phase 1 positifs

  • FR104 est un immunomodulateur composé d’un fragment d’anticorps monoclonal optimisé ciblant le récepteur CD28, un élément clé de la fonction de destruction des lymphocytes T effecteurs qui sont délétères dans les maladies auto-immunes et les transplantations.
  • FR104 bloque de manière ciblée la fonction de destruction des lymphocytes T effecteurs mais pas la fonction de régulation des lymphocytes T régulateurs, favorisant l’immunotolérance.
  • Ce produit favorise l’induction de la tolérance immune dans le cas de transplantation d’organes et de maladies auto-immunes à médiation lymphocytaire T.
  • Issu de la R&D d’OSE Immunotherapeutics et basé sur une recherche académique de pointe, le FR104 est développé pour des applications prévues dans la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (voir Pathologies, MAI) et la transplantation (voir Pathologies, Transplantation).

FR104, licencié à Janssen Biotech (groupe J&J, un des premiers groupes pharmaceutiques mondiaux), responsable de l’ensemble du développement clinique, de l’enregistrement et de la commercialisation du produit, au plan international

  • Fin 2013, alors en préclinique, FR104 a fait l’objet d’une option de licence avec la société Janssen Biotech (groupe J&J, un des premiers groupes pharmaceutiques mondiaux très actif dans de nombreux domaines, en particulier le secteur des maladies inflammatoires et auto-immunes). En juillet 2016, Janssen a levé cette option de licence et poursuit le  développement clinique du FR104 dans les maladies auto-immunes, avec des paiements d’étapes prévus et des royalties.
  • Des résultats cliniques positifs de l’essai de phase 1 du FR104 mené chez le volontaire sain ont été publiés en ligne* dans « The Journal of Immunology » en novembre 2016. Ils ont montré une bonne tolérance et une activité immunosuppressive du produit.
* First-in-Human Study in Healthy Subjects with FR104, a Pegylated Monoclonal Antibody Fragment Antagonist of CD28
Nicolas Poirier, Gilles Blancho, Maryvonne Hiance, Caroline Mary, Tim Van Assche, Jos Lempoels, Steven Ramael, Weirong Wang, Virginie Thepenier, Cecile Braudeau, Nina Salabert, Regis Josien, Ian Anderson, Ian Gourley, Jean-Paul Soulillou, Didier Coquoz and Bernard Vanhove