Memopi®, a technology to activate the immune system, based on a patented combination of neo-epitopes.

The Memopi® technology

Memopi® is a disruptive technology which re-educates the body’s immunological memory so that the immune system (and particularly T cytotoxic cells) attacks tumor cells by increasing the patients’ specific cytotoxic T response against their cancer.
Treatments using Memopi® aim to stabilize the development of the disease and to extend patients’ life.
The development of innovative treatments such as Memopi®, provides patients who face poor prognosis or therapeutic failure an important, new therapeutic option.

Thousands of epitopes have been studied in Research & Development and were individually optimized to define the best rational choice of a multi-epitopes combination from various tumor antigens. This selection process was drastic and led to identification of 11,722 candidate peptides. Based on the binding to T response receptors, 223 peptides were selected and chemically modified to increase their binding to the receptors. 46 peptides were identified as having a strong capacity of binding to the HLA-A2 or TCR receptors.
The epitopes arise from tumor antigens present in several cancers and are expressed in more than 90% of cancers. They are either overexpressed in the tissues (such as HER2/neu) and are CarcinoEmbryonic Antigens (CEA), or of testicular origin (such as MAGE) or antigens from tumor suppressor gene (such as p53, damaged gene in half of the cancers).
In a second step, based on in vitro and in vivo synergy, 10 epitopes were selected to constitute Tedopi®. These epitopes of different types were optimized (increased affinity to HLA-A2 and to other epitopes, increased affinity to T or TCR receptors) and associated in a single combination including an epitope stimulating T “helper” lymphocytes, also called PADRE.
The synergy of the combined multi-epitopes determined this selection in order to obtain a strong and durable T cytotoxic response.

The T cell (blue cell) ensures immunosurveillance of cancer, if it can recognize cancer cells (green cell) with surface receptors recognized as foreign.

At invasive stage of cancer, the cancer cell foils immunosurveillance by dysregulation of immunosurveillance system in the tumor site, in parallel with a high expression of tumor antigens associated with a strong tumor growth.

9 T epitopes selected and optimized for enhanced HLA -A2 and TCR binding are combined with a T helper epitope (subcutaneous administration with an adjuvant); the epitopes combination will restore immunosurveillance.

The epitopes Injection attracts presenting cells (APC) that express the epitopes on their surface for presentation to immune cells.

An Amplification of messages (cellular messengers called cytokines) is initiated involving T helper.

T cells are becoming T cytotoxic cells, they are informed and armed.

T cells are activated when their TCR will bind to HLA -A2 receptor, strong binding of epitopes to both receptors induces a strong T cytotoxic response.

Armed cytotoxic T cells recognize the tumor antigens on the surface of cancer cells. The cytotoxic T response is specific for epitopes and for tumor antigens they represent.

Cytotoxic T cells specifically destroy cancer cells that express tumor antigens referred.

The OSE technology is unique, it targets 5 tumor antigens at a time. Selected tumor antigens are expressed in several cancers, they have a poor prognosis and are over-expressed in disseminated or invasive stage. NSCLC tumors are heterogeneous but more than 90 % of tumors expresses at least one of the 5 selected tumor antigen or tumoral proteins (CEA, p53, HER- 2 / neu, MAGE -2 and MAGE -3).

Memopi®, une technologie d’activation du système immunitaire T spécifique basée sur une combinaison brevetée de néo-épitopes

La technologie Memopi®

Memopi® est une technologie de rupture qui réapprend au système immunitaire à éliminer les cellules tumorales dans des cancers avancés, en augmentant la réponse spécifique T cytotoxique. L’objectif des traitements utilisant Memopi® est de stabiliser le développement de la maladie et de prolonger ainsi la vie des patients. Cette innovation représente une opportunité pour les patients à pronostic réservé ou en échec thérapeutique. Pour ces patients, le développement de traitements innovants est indispensable afin de leur offrir de nouvelles options thérapeutiques.

Des milliers d’épitopes ont ainsi été étudiés en R&D et optimisés individuellement pour arrêter un choix rationnel d’antigènes tumoraux et une combinaison de néo-épitopes optimale. Le processus de sélection a été drastique avec 11,722 peptides candidats sélectionnés. En fonction d’un algorythme de liaison aux récepteurs de la réponse T, 223 peptides ont été choisis et modifiés chimiquement pour une liaison accrue aux récepteurs, 46 peptides ont été considérés comme des peptides à forte capacité de liaison au récepteur HLA-A2 ou au récepteur TCR.

Les antigènes tumoraux dont sont issus les épitopes sont représentatifs de plusieurs cancers et sont exprimés dans plus de 90 % des cancers. Ils sont soit surexprimés dans des tissus comme HER2/neu, ce sont des antigènes carcinoembryonnaires comme le CEA, ils sont encore d’origine testiculaire comme MAGE, ou encore ce sont des antigènes issus d’un gène répresseur de tumeurs comme p53 (gène endommagé dans la moitié des cancers).

Dans une deuxième étape, 10 épitopes ont été sélectionnés pour constituer le produit Tedopi® sur la base d’une synergie observée in vitro et in vivo. Ces épitopes optimisés sont de nature différente (affinité accrue pour les récepteurs HLA- A2 et pour d’autres épitopes, une affinité accrue pour le récepteur T ou TCR). Ces 10 épitopes ont été associés dans la même combinaison incluant un épitope stimulant les lymphocytes T « helper » appelé PADRE.
La synergie des épitopes combinés a déterminé cette sélection pour une réponse T cytotoxique forte et durable.

La cellule T représentée assure l’immunosurveillance des cancers, si elle peut reconnaitre les cellules cancéreuses avec des récepteurs de surface reconnus comme étrangers.

A un stade invasif du cancer, la cellule cancéreuse déjoue l’immunosurveillance, une dérégulation du système d’immunosurveillance est observée au niveau tumoral, en parallèle avec une forte expression des antigènes tumoraux associée à une croissance tumorale forte.

Les 9 épitopes T cytotoxiques choisis et optimisés pour une liaison accrue aux récepteurs HLA-A2 et TCR, sont associés à un épitope T Helper (administration sous cutanée avec un adjuvant) ; les épitopes combinés vont restaurer l’immunosurveillance.

L’injection des épitopes attire les cellules APC présentatrices qui les exprimeront à leur surface pour les présenter aux cellules de l’immunité.

Une amplification des messages (messagers cellulaires appelés cytokines) est initiée impliquant les lymphocytes T helper.

Les cellules T devenant T cytotoxiques sont informées et armées.

Les lymphocytes T seront activés quand leur récepteur TCR se liera au récepteur HLA-A2, une forte liaison des épitopes à ces deux récepteurs induit une forte réponse T cytotoxique.

Les cellules T cytotoxiques armées reconnaissent les antigènes tumoraux à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. La réponse T cytotoxique sera spécifique des épitopes et donc des antigènes tumoraux qu’ils représentent

Les cellules T cytotoxiques détruiront spécifiquement les cellules cancéreuses qui expriment un des antigènes tumoraux visés.

Les cellules T cytotoxiques détruiront spécifiquement les cellules cancéreuses qui expriment un des antigènes tumoraux visés

La technologie est unique, elle cible 5 antigènes tumoraux à la fois, les antigènes tumoraux choisis sont exprimés dans plusieurs cancers, ils sont de mauvais pronostics et sont sur- exprimés à un stade agressif ou invasif. Pour les tumeurs NSCLC ils sont hétérogènes mais plus de 90% des tumeurs expriment au moins un des 5 antigènes tumoraux ou protéines tumorales choisies (CEA, p53, HER-2/neu, MAGE-2 et MAGE-3).