SEARCH OUR PAGES

FR104

FR104

The CD28/CTLA-4 pathway controls both T-cell activation and regulatory T-cell down regulation. CD28 receptor is expressed on the surface of the majority of naïve T-cells and is the major co-stimulatory molecule to generate T-cell activation.

In contrast, CTLA-4, a CD28 homologue, is expressed on activated T-cells, especially regulatory T-cells (T-Reg), and has been historically described as the essential component of the regulation of immune self-reactivation. Therefore, the CD28/CTLA-4 pathway is believed to be at the heart of different autoimmune diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis.

FR104, a monoclonal antibody fragment and CD28 antagonist, selectively blunts CD28 co-stimulation while sparing the CTLA-4 co-inhibitory signal. The net effect of CD28 antagonism is down regulating effector T-cells while promoting T-Reg activity.

In a Phase 1 trial performed in 2016, FR104 demonstrated that it was safe, well tolerated and has the potential to show clinical activity in autoimmune diseases, particularly in rheumatoid arthritis (N. Poirier et al.; First-in-Human Study in Healthy Subjects with FR104, a Pegylated Monoclonal Antibody Fragment Antagonist of CD28; Journal of Immunology; 2016).

On November 2, 2018, OSE Immunotherapeutics announced that it will regain the worldwide rights to FR104 previously licensed to Janssen Biotech, Inc., (cf. press release of July 5, 2016) effective December 31, 2018.

Janssen’s decision to return the program FR104 to OSE Immunotherapeutics is based on its own internal strategic review and prioritization of its portfolio.

OSE  is pursuing clinical development of FR104 and is currently evaluating the best options for continuing a sustainable development of the product, including worldwide partnering opportunities.

SEARCH OUR PAGES

FR104

FR104

La voie CD28/CTLA-4 contrôle à la fois l’activation des cellules T et la régulation à la baisse des cellules T. Le récepteur CD28 est exprimé à la surface de la plupart des cellules T naïves ; c’est la principale molécule de costimulation pour générer l’activation des cellules T.

En revanche, CTLA-A (un homologue de CD28) est exprimé sur les cellules T effectrices, notamment les cellules T régulatrices (T-Reg), et décrit comme le composant principal de la régulation de l’auto-réactivation immunitaire. La voie CD28/CTLA-4 est donc au cœur des maladies auto-immunes telle que la polyarthrite rhumatoïde.

FR104 est un fragment d’anticorps monoclonal, choisi et optimisé pour être un antagoniste spécifique de CD28, un élément central dans la voie de signalisation des lymphocytes T. En effet, FR104 bloque de manière ciblée la fonction de destruction des lymphocytes T effecteurs, mais il ne bloque pas la fonction de régulation des lymphocytes T régulateurs, favorisant ainsi l’immunotolérance recherchée dans les maladies auto-immunes et la transplantation.

L’essai clinique de phase 1 de FR104 a montré une bonne tolérance et une efficacité immunosuppressive du produit qui présente un potentiel de développement dans la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (N. Poirier et al. ; First-in-Human Study in Healthy Subjects with FR104, a Pegylated Monoclonal Antibody Fragment Antagonist of CD28 ; Journal of Immunology; 2016)..

Le 2 novembre 2018, la société a repris les droits mondiaux de FR104, licenciés à Janssen Biotech Inc. (cf. communiqué de presse du 5 juillet 2016) avec effet au 31 décembre 2018.

La décision de Janssen Biotech de rendre le programme FR104 à OSE Immunotherapeutics a été motivée par une révision interne de sa propre stratégie et une priorisation de son portefeuille de produits.

OSE Immunotherapeutics poursuit le développement clinique de FR104 et évalue d’ores et déjà les meilleures options pour continuer un développement robuste du produit, y compris des opportunités de partenariat mondial.