SEARCH OUR PAGES

BI 765063 (OSE-172)

BI 765063 (OSE-172)

In recent years, immunotherapies have driven significant clinical progress and increased hopes for patients suffering from various types of cancer.

The tumor microenvironment (TME), in particular the presence and immune-status of myeloid derived suppressor cells (MDSC), tumor-associated macrophages (TAM) as well as dendritic cells, has been closely linked to tumor activity and responsiveness to T-cell-targeted immunotherapies.

OSE Immunotherapeutics’ R&D team has taken interest in this critical aspect of research by focusing on SIRPα, on the CD47/SIRPα pathway, a receptor strongly expressed by myeloid and suppressive macrophage cells.

BI 765063 (formerly OSE-172) is an antibody antagonist of SIRPα, a binding partner for the “Don’t eat me“ signal CD47, which is expressed by tumors to escape detection from the immune system. Blocking SIRPα enables tumor associated macrophages and dendritic cells to resume their phagocytosis activity and control / destroy tumor.

In addition, BI 765063, as a SIRPα antagonist and first-in-class myeloid checkpoint inhibitor, inhibits the creation of pro-tumorigenic suppressor cells and restores their function. Pre-clinical studies have demonstrated BI 765063’s ability to inhibit pro-tumorigenic cells while activating anti-tumorigenic ones within the TME, generating high interest for this innovative breakthrough approach.

OSE is actively working on several new approaches focused on modulating the tumor microenvironment.

ABOUT THE BI 765063 (OSE-172) CLINICAL PROGRAM

A Phase clinical trial 1 is ongoing to evaluate BI 765063 in patients with advanced solid tumors.

The clinical Phase 1 is a dose finding study of monoclonal antibody SIRPα antagonist, BI 765063, a myeloid checkpoint inhibitor administered as a single agent and in combination with the monoclonal antibody PD-1 antagonist ezabenlimab, a T lymphocyte checkpoint inhibitor, developed by Boehringer Ingelheim.

This trial aims to characterize safety, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics and preliminary efficacy in patients with advanced solid tumors (ClinicalTrials.gov: NCT03990233).

The study is conducted by OSE as part of a collaboration and license agreement with Boehringer Ingelheim under which Boehringer Ingelheim obtained exclusive rights to BI 765063.

The Company recently completed the dose escalation part (Step 1) of the Phase 1 trial evaluating BI 765063 alone and in combination with BI 754091 (ezabenlimab) in advanced solid tumors.

Data presented at the 2021 ASCO meeting indicated that BI 765063 was well tolerated and showed monotherapy activity in heavily pre-treated solid tumor patients. In particular, a durable partial response was observed in an advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) patient.

Additional data from the dose escalation part of the trial of BI 765063 in combination with anti-PD-1 ezabenlimab BI 754091were presented at the ESMO 2021 (European Society for Medical Oncology) congress. That data demonstrated a good safety profile and promising early clinical efficacy in heavily pretreated patients with solid tumors. In particular, three partial responses (PR) in patients with microsatellite stable (MSS) advanced endometrium or colorectal cancer were observed.

The trial is currently recruiting MSS advanced colorectal and advanced endometrium cancer patients in the expansion part of the Phase 1 trial (Step 2).

recherchez parmi nos pages

BI 765063 (OSE-172)

BI 765063 (OSE-172)

Ces dernières années, l’immunothérapie a réalisé des progrès cliniques importants et représente un grand espoir pour les patients souffrant de différents types de cancer.

Le micro-environnement tumoral, en particulier la présence et le statut immunitaire des cellules myéloïdes suppressives (MDSC, Myeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells), des macrophages associés à la tumeur (TAM, « Tumor Associated Macrophages ») et des cellules dendritiques, est étroitement lié à l’activité tumorale et à la réponse aux immunothérapies ciblant les cellules T.

L’équipe de R&D d’OSE Immunotherapeutics s’est particulièrement investie dans cet axe de recherche en s’intéressant au récepteur SIRPα, sur l’axe  CD47/SIRPα, un récepteur fortement exprimé par les cellules myéloïdes et les cellules macrophagiques suppressives.

BI 765063 (OSE-172) est un antagoniste de SIRPα responsable, avec CD47, du signal « Don’t Eat Me », utilisé par les tumeurs pour échapper à la détection du système immunitaire. En bloquant SIRPα, les macrophages associés à la tumeur et aux cellules dendritiques peuvent reprendre leur activité de phagocytose et contrôler/détruire les tumeurs.

BI 765063 bloque la génération des cellules suppressives pro-tumorales et restaure leur fonction effectrice.

Les études précliniques ont démontré la capacité de BI 765063 à inhiber les cellules pro-tumorales et à activer les cellules antitumorales au sein du micro-environnement tumoral, suscitant un fort intérêt pour cette approche de rupture.

OSE Immunotherapeutics travaille activement sur des nouvelles approches visant à moduler le micro-environnement tumoral.

A PROPOS DU PROGRAMME CLINIQUE DE BI 765063 (OSE-172)

Un essai clinique de phase 1 est en cours pour évaluer BI 765063 chez les patients atteints de tumeurs solides avancées.

Cet essai clinique de Phase 1 est une étude de dose de l’anticorps monoclonal SIRPα, BI 765063, un inhibiteur de point de contrôle myéloïde, administré seul et en combinaison avec un anticorps monoclonal et antagoniste de PD-1 de Boehringer Ingelheim, BI 754091, un inhibiteur de point de contrôle des lymphocytes T.

Cet essai vise à évaluer la tolérance, la pharmacocinétique, la pharmacodynamie et des données préliminaires d’efficacité chez les patients atteints de tumeurs solides avancées (Clinical.Trials.gov : NCT03990233).

L’étude est menée par OSE Immunotherapeutics dans le cadre de son accord de licence et de collaboration avec Boehringer Ingelheim qui a acquis les droits exclusifs de BI 765063.

L’étape d’escalade de dose (Étape 1) de l’essai de Phase 1, évaluant BI 765063 en monothérapie et en combinaison avec un BI 754091 (ezabenlimab) dans les tumeurs solides avancées, est terminée.

Les résultats présentés au congrès de l’ASCO 2021 ont montré une bonne tolérance de BI 765063 et une efficacité en monothérapie chez des patients atteints de tumeurs solides et lourdement prétraités. Une réponse partielle durable a notamment été observée chez un patient souffrant d’un carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC) avancé.

Des données supplémentaires de cette étape d’escalade de dose, cette fois-ci en combinaison avec l’anti-PD-1 ezabenlimab, ont été présentées au congrès de l’ESMO 2021 (European Medical Society for Oncology) et ont montré une bonne tolérance de BI 765063 en monothérapie et en combinaison avec l’anti-PD-1 ezabenlimab et des signes prometteurs d’activité clinique chez des patients atteints de tumeurs solides et lourdement prétraités. En particulier trois réponses partielles chez des patients atteints de cancer avancé colorectal et de cancer avancé de l’endomètre avec microsatellites stables (MSS) ont été observées.

La phase d’expansion de cohortes de cette phase 1 est désormais en cours chez des patients atteints de cancer avancé colorectal et de cancer avancé de l’endomètre avec microsatellites stables.