SEARCH OUR PAGES

Research & Development

Research & Development

Complementary Research & Development platforms in immunology

 From target identification to product validation and beyond

Delivering first-in-class therapies activating and regulating the immune system

 

OSE Immunotherapeutics’ Research & Development is focused on developing innovative immunotherapies for immune activation and regulation in the fields of immuno-oncology and autoimmune diseases. It is based on three research platforms from its areas of expertise in immunology:

  • T-cell-based vaccination
  • Immuno-Oncology (focus on myeloid targets)
  • Auto-Immunity & Inflammation.

Building on unparalleled experience in clinical immunology applied to transplant, OSE’s research benefits from a fully translational platform historically intertwined with academic centers with expertise in immunotherapy (INSERM, Center for Research in Transplantation and Immunology, University Hospital of Nantes, etc.).

Leveraging these collaborations, OSE’s team has acquired unique expertise and knowledge focused on novel target discovery to generate innovative agonists or antagonists of the immune response, combined with several scientific and technological platforms: optimized neoepitopes, myeloid checkpoint inhibitors, monoclonal antibodies.

We have already delivered multiple first-in-class products that activate or regulate the immune system. The novelty and potential of these products have been recognized through a wide network of international collaborations with top international pharma, clinical and academic partners, notably in Europe and in the US.

Our Research & Development in T cell based vaccination

OSE Immunotherapeutics leverages its expertise in the selection and optimization of small proteins called peptides (epitopes or neo-epitopes) to deliver a rationally designed combination of multiple peptides with beneficial therapeutic potential.

The Company uses the knowledge and expertise gained from its Memopi® epitope (neo-epitope) optimization vaccine technology to induce a T lymphocyte memory immune response in the respiratory tract and in the lung.

Two products based on T cell vaccine technology

OSE’s most advanced program, Tedopi® is an antitumor neo-epitope combination being evaluated in advanced lung cancer: this selection of epitopes is intended to deliver a therapeutic vaccine. This is not a classic preventive vaccine, but a specific T cell-based immunotherapy. Tedopi® activates a cytotoxic T response able to destroy the cancer cells it recognizes and to restore an immune surveillance of these cells in HLA-A2 responder patients.

Tedopi® demonstrated strong clinical benefit in Step-1 of a Phase 3 study in HLA-A2 positive patients with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) after PD-1/PD-L1 immune checkpoint inhibitor failure. The primary endpoint was met in the predefined Step-1 analysis of this Phase 3 trial with a 12-month survival rate in Tedopi® treated patients.

Tedopi® is also being investigated in other Phase 2 trials:

  • Pancreatic cancer, under the sponsorship of the GERCOR, a cooperative group in oncology,
  • Ovarian cancer, under the sponsorship of ARCAGY-GINECO, another cooperative group in oncology,
  • NSCLC, in combination with checkpoint inhibitor Opdivo®(nivolumab), under the sponsorship of the Italian Foundation FoRT.

 

CoVepiT is a prophylactic vaccine against COVID-19 based on optimized peptides selected to induce a lasting sentinel T lymphocyte immune response against SARS-CoV-2 in barrier tissues such as the respiratory tract and the lung.

The results from both preclinical and human ex vivo studies build a strong basis for supporting the development of CoVepiT as a novel and differentiated COVID-19 vaccine designed against multiple SARS-CoV-2 targets with vaccinal technology known to induce memory T lymphocytes.

In April 2021, a Phase 1 clinical trial started to evaluate the safety, reactogenicity and immunogenicity of CoVepiT in healthy adult volunteers.

In July, after receiving a preliminary update regarding a limited number of Grade 1 and one Grade 2 adverse events, in particular, persistent nodules around injection points, out of an abundance of caution and in agreement with the independent Safety Monitoring Committee (SMC), the Company has decided to voluntarily and temporarily pause dosing in its ongoing clinical study and assess the evolution of these nodules before determining the best way forward for this product and its target population.

Our Research & Development in Immuno-Oncology

OSE-Tumor-Microenvironement-V2

Tumor cells are usually recognized and destroyed through a complex mechanism of immune surveillance involving different immune cells (antigen presenting cells, macrophages, lymphocytes…), proteins and mediators (interleukins, growth factors…).

Tumor cells can escape this surveillance mechanism by blocking immune cells’ activation. They can, for example, express specific antigens that are also expressed by normal cells thus avoiding being recognized, or block immune cell activation checkpoints neutralizing the immune response.

OSE Immunotherapeutics’ R&D team focuses on the key aspects of the immune response and delivers monoclonal antibodies targeting myeloid cell receptors and macrophages

BI 765063 (OSE-172), a monoclonal antibody antagonist of SIRPα-mediated “Don’t Eat Me” signal, selectively blocks the SIRPα/CD47 interaction and thus increases the function of myeloid cells: phagocytosis of tumor cells by macrophages and presentation of tumor antigens by dendritic cells.

BI 765063 is also a selective inhibitor of SIRPα that by virtue of this specificity and lack of binding and blocking of a very similar receptor called SIRPɣ, ensures that response of T lymphocytes is retained to enable T cell-mediated tumor killing.

BI 765063 is currently being evaluated in a Phase 1 clinical trial in patients with advanced solid tumors, as part of a license and collaboration agreement with Boehringer Ingelheim.

 

OSE’s R&D teams have characterized a new myeloid checkpoint target, CLEC-1 (a C-type lectin receptor) and identified the first monoclonal antibody antagonists of CLEC-1 as an innovative step in cancer immunotherapy.

CLEC-1 is a novel “Don’t Eat Me” signal (similar to the SIRPα-CD47 axis) and CLEC-1 antagonist antibodies developed by OSE Immunotherapeutics restore the phagocytosis function of macrophages and dendritic cells and demonstrates synergistic anti-cancer effects, in particular when paired with chemotherapy.

The R&D on CLEC-1 is conducted in collaboration with Dr. Elise Chiffoleau (Center for Research in Transplantation and Immunology, UMR – INSERM 1064, Nantes University Hospital).

BiCKI® is a novel bispecific fusion protein platform built on the key backbone component anti-PD-1 (OSE-279) and targeting innovative targets.

The BiCKI® platform strives to inhibit key immune checkpoints while simultaneously delivering intratumoral cytokines with Treg modulating function and/or increasing exhausted T cell responses. The BiCKI® platform can also modify the tumor microenvironment by delivering costimulatory signals to rewire anti-tumoral T cell activities or other modalities re-instating, among others, macrophage polarization and phagocytic functions.

Based on an engineered anti-PD-1 bifunctional antibody platform technology, BiCKI® is designed to extend the spectrum of patients responding to immunotherapies. BiCKI® represents the second generation of PD-(L)1 inhibitors that have been used to increase antitumor efficacy in hard to treat cancers by addressing untapped immune evasion mechanisms.

Our Research & Development in Autoimmunity & Inflammation

Mirroring cancer, autoimmune diseases are characterized by an abnormal immune reaction against normal cells.

Rheumatoid arthritis, Crohn’s disease, psoriasis and Sjögren syndrome are examples of the 80 different diseases that have been associated to autoimmune dysfunction.

Autoimmune dysfunction happens through a deregulation of the immune response or of immune cell maturation. As a result, immune cells target normal cells instead of disease cells, generating pathological situations that can profoundly affect the daily life of patients.

OSE Immunotherapeutics is developing promising products focusing on different receptors

The IL-7 receptor is a key element of autoimmune diseases. IL-7 is a cytokine that controls the proliferation, apoptosis and activation of CD4 and CD8 effector T-cells in humans. With OSE-127, OSE’s R&D team is developing an antagonist of the IL-7 receptor present on T-cells, the CD127 receptor, thus downregulating immune activity.

Based on positive Phase 1 clinical results, a Phase 2 is being conducted in ulcerative colitis (OSE sponsor) and an independent Phase 2a is planned in Sjögren’s syndrome (Servier sponsor). OSE-127 is being developped in partnership with Servier.

The CD28-receptor that controls both T-cell activation and regulatory T-cell downregulation. This receptor is believed to be at the heart of several autoimmune diseases including rheumatoid arthritis.

FR104, a CD28-antagonist, demonstrated during its Phase 1 clinical trial both good clinical safety and immunosuppressive activity.

FR104 is being evaluated in a Phase 1/2 clinical trial in renal transplant and is Phase 2-ready to be evaluated in a niche indication in auto-immune diseases.

OSE-230, a first-in-class therapeutic agent with the potential to resolve chronic inflammation by driving affected tissues to complete the inflammation program and restore tissue integrity.

Persistent inflammation is a characteristic feature of all chronic inflammatory or autoimmune diseases and if not controlled or resolved, it can lead to further tissue damage and give rise to tissue fibrosis with eventual loss of organ function. Most anti-inflammatory agents act using a mechanism that blocks pro-inflammation pathways. In contrast, OSE Immunotherapeutics is developing OSE-230 as a first-in-class therapeutic agent with the potential to resolve chronic inflammation by driving affected tissues to complete the inflammation program and restore tissue integrity.

OSE-230 is an agonist antibody against ChemR23, also known as chemerin chemokine-like receptor 1 (CMKLR1), a G-protein coupled receptor (GPCR) expressed on myeloid immune cells known to modulate inflammation.

recherchez parmi nos pages

Recherche & Développement

Recherche & Développement

Des plateformes complémentaires de Recherche et Développement en immunologie

De l’identification d’une cible à la validation d’un produit et à son développement

Des immunothérapies first-in-class d’activation et de régulation

 

La Recherche & Développement d’OSE Immunotherapeutics est consacrée au développement d’immunothérapies innovantes d’activation et de régulation du système immunitaire dans les domaines de l’immuno-oncologie et des maladies auto-immunes.

Elle repose sur 3 plateformes dans ses domaines d’expertise : Vaccins à base de cellules T, Immuno-Oncologie (cibles myéloïdes), Auto-Immunité & Inflammation.

Issue d’une expérience unique en immunologie clinique initialement appliquée à la transplantation, la R&D d’OSE Immunotherapeutics bénéficie d’une structure de recherche translationnelle historiquement en interaction avec des centres académiques experts en immunologie : l’INSERM, le CESTI (Centre Européen des Sciences de Transplantation et Immunothérapie), le Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Nantes, …

Grâce à ces collaborations, l’équipe d’OSE Immunotherapeutics a acquis une expertise et un savoir-faire uniques pour découvrir des nouvelles cibles d’intérêt et mettre au point des agonistes et des antagonistes innovants de la réponse immunitaire, combinés à plusieurs plateformes technologiques et scientifiques : néoépitopes, checkpoints inhibiteurs, anticorps monoclonaux.

Nous développons plusieurs produits first-in-class d’activation et de régulation du système immunitaire dont l’originalité et le potentiel ont été reconnus à travers de nombreuses collaborations internationales avec des partenaires pharmaceutiques, cliniques et académiques, notamment en Europe et aux Etats-Unis.

Notre Recherche & Développement sur les Vaccins à base de cellules T

OSE Immunotherapeutics dispose d’une expertise de sélection et d’optimisation de petites protéines, appelées peptides (épitopes ou néo-épitopes) pour un type de combinaison multiple de peptides dotés d’un potentiel thérapeutique.

Pour générer une réponse immune des lymphocytes T mémoires sentinelles, en particulier dans les voies respiratoires et le poumon, OSE Immunotherapeutics s’appuie sur Memopi®, sa technologie vaccinale d’optimisation d’épitopes (néo-épitopes).

Deux types de produit à visée vaccinale

Tedopi®, combinaison de néo-épitopes antitumorale évaluée dans le cancer du poumon avancé : cette sélection d’épitopes s’applique à l’obtention d’un vaccin thérapeutique. Il ne s’agit pas d’un vaccin classique à visée préventive, mais d’une immunothérapie T spécifique. Tedopi® active une réponse T cytotoxique capable de détruire les cellules cancéreuses qu’il reconnaît et de restaurer une surveillance immunitaire de ces cellules chez les patients répondeurs HLA-A2.

Tedopi® est le produit le plus avancé d’OSE Immunotherapeutics, avec une étude de Phase 3 dans le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules après échec d’un traitement par checkpoint inhibiteur PD-1/PD-L1. L’étape 1 de cette étude a montré des résultats positifs avec l’atteinte du critère principal: taux de survie à 12 mois des patients traités par Tedopi®.

Tedopi® dans le cancer du pancréas est au stade clinique de Phase 2, avec un essai clinique promu par le GERCOR, groupe coopérateur en oncologie.

CoVepiT est un programme de vaccin prophylactique contre la COVID-19. La sélection et l’optimisation d’épitopes vise  à induire la réponse immune des lymphocytes T mémoires sentinelles dans les tissus barrières contre des cibles multiples de SARS-CoV-2, en particulier dans les voies respiratoires et le poumon.

Les résultats obtenus dans les études précliniques et ex vivo chez l’Homme constituent une base solide pour la poursuite du développement de CoVepiT, un vaccin contre la COVID-19 innovant et différencié, basé sur une technologie vaccinale d’induction des lymphocytes T mémoires contre des cibles multiples du virus SARS-CoV-2.

En avril 2021, un essai clinique de Phase 1 a été lancé pour évaluer la tolérance, la réactogénicité et l’immunogénicité de CoVepiT chez des adultes volontaires sains.

Notre Recherche & Développement en Immuno-Oncologie

OSE-Tumor-Microenvironement-V2

Les cellules cancéreuses sont normalement reconnues et détruites par un mécanisme complexe de surveillance immunitaire impliquant différents types de cellules immunitaires (cellules présentant des antigènes, macrophages, lymphocytes, …), des protéines et des médiateurs (interleukines, facteurs de croissance, …).

Les cellules cancéreuses peuvent échapper à ce mécanisme de surveillance en bloquant l’activation des cellules immunitaires. Par exemple, elles peuvent exprimer des antigènes spécifiques qui sont aussi exprimés par les cellules normales et ne peuvent ainsi pas être reconnues, ou elles peuvent bloquer les points de contrôle qui activent les cellules immunitaires, neutralisant ainsi la réponse immunitaire.

L’équipe de R&D d’OSE Immunotherapeutics se consacre aux aspects clés de la réponse immunitaire et délivre des anticorps monoclonaux qui ciblent les récepteurs des cellules myéloïdes et des macrophages

BI 765063 (OSE-172), un anticorps antagoniste sélectif du signal « Don’t Eat Me » médié par le récepteur myéloïde SIRPα, bloque sélectivement l’interaction SIRPα/CD47 et augmente ainsi la fonction des cellules myéloïdes : phagocytose des cellules tumorales et présentation d’antigènes tumoraux par les cellules dendritiques.

BI 765063 est par ailleurs un inhibiteur sélectif de SIRPα qui, en raison de cette propriété et de l’absence de liaison et de blocage par SIRPɣ, un récepteur très similaire, garantit le maintien d’une réponse des lymphocytes T et la destruction de la tumeur médiée par les cellules T.

BI 765063 est en cours d’évaluation dans un essai clinique de phase 1 chez des patients atteints de tumeurs solides avancées, dans le cadre de l’accord de licence et de collaboration avec Boehringer Ingelheim.

CLEC-1 (parmi les récepteurs CLR – C-type lectin receptors) a été caractérisé par les équipes de R&D d’OSE comme une nouvelle cible de point de contrôle myéloïde, et les premiers anticorps monoclonaux antagonistes de CLEC-1 identifiés comme une étape innovante d’immunothérapie du cancer.

Les cellules tumorales inhibent la phagocytose des cellules myéloïdes à travers CLEC-1. Les antagonistes mis au point bloquent le nouveau point de contrôle myéloïde CLEC-1/CLEC-1L et représentent une immunothérapie du cancer innovante, en particulier synergique avec la chimiothérapie.

La R&D sur CLEC-1 est menée en collaboration du Dr Elise Chiffoleau (CRTI, Centre de Recherche en Transplantation et Immunologie, UMR – INSERM 1064, Centre Universitaire de Nantes).

BiCKI® est une nouvelle plateforme de protéines de fusion bispécifiques construite autour d’une ossature centrale anti-PD-1 (OSE-279), nouveau traitement de référence en oncologie, fusionnée à de nouvelles cibles d’immunothérapies.

La plateforme BiCKI® a été construite avec l’ambition d’inhiber les inhibiteurs de points de contrôle immunitaires clés tout en délivrant simultanément des cytokines capables de moduler les cellules T régulatrices, et/ou d’augmenter les réponses des cellules T épuisées au sein de la tumeur. Elle peut également intégrer d’autres modalités thérapeutiques pour modifier le micro-environnement tumoral en délivrant, par exemple, des signaux de costimulation pour restaurer l’activité des lymphocytes T antitumoraux ou encore rétablir les fonctions phagocytaires et de polarisation des macrophages.

Basée sur une technologie de plateforme d’anticorps bifonctionnels anti-PD-1, BiCKI® est conçue pour élargir le type de patients répondeurs aux immunothérapies. Il s’agit de la deuxième génération d’inhibiteurs PD-(L)1 utilisés pour augmenter l’efficacité antitumorale dans les cancers difficiles à traiter en visant des mécanismes d’échappement immunitaire non exploités.

Notre Recherche & Développement en Auto-Immunité & Inflammation

Miroir du cancer, les maladies auto-immunes se caractérisent par une réaction immunitaire anormale contre les cellules normales.

La polyarthrite rhumatoïde, la maladie de Crohn, le psoriasis, le syndrome de Sjögren sont autant d’exemples parmi plus de 80 maladies différentes associées au dysfonctionnement auto-immunitaire.

Les maladies auto-immunes résultent d’un dysfonctionnement du système immunitaire conduisant ce dernier à s’attaquer aux constituants normaux de l’organisme. Ce dysfonctionnement génère des maladies qui peuvent profondément altérer la vie quotidienne des patients.

OSE Immunotherapeutics développe des produits prometteurs ciblant différents récepteurs

Le récepteur IL-7 est un autre élément clé des maladies auto-immunes. Il s’agit d’une cytokine qui contrôle la prolifération, l’apoptose et l’activation des cellules T effectrices CD4 et CD8 chez l’homme. Avec OSE-127, l’équipe de R&D d’OSE développe un antagoniste du récepteur IL-7 présent sur les cellules T effectrices (le récepteur CD127), régulant ainsi à la baisse l’activité immunitaire.

Après des résultats positifs de Phase 1 clinique, le démarrage de deux Phases 2 d’OSE-127 est prévu au 4ème trimestre 2020 dans la rectocolite hémorragique (promotion OSE) et dans le syndrome de Sjögren (promotion Servier) dans le cadre d’un accord d’option de licence avec Servier.

Le récepteur CD28 contrôle à la fois l’activation des cellules T effectrices et la diminution des cellules T régulatrices. Ce récepteur joue un rôle clé dans plusieurs maladies auto-immunes dont la polyarthrite rhumatoïde. La Phase 1 clinique de l’antagoniste de CD28, FR104, a démontré une bonne tolérance clinique et une activité immunosuppressive.

FR104 est en cours de Phase 1/2 dans la transplantation rénale et au statut de Phase 2 dans une indication de niche dans les maladies auto-immunes.

OSE-230, un agent thérapeutique first-in-class qui a le potentiel d’activer les voies de résolution physiologiques de l’inflammation chronique et de restaurer l’intégrité du tissu pathologique.

L’inflammation persistante est une caractéristique de toutes les maladies inflammatoires chroniques et auto-immunes. Si elle n’est pas contrôlée ou résolue, elle peut conduire à l’aggravation des lésions des tissus et provoquer une fibrose tissulaire, éventuellement associée à la perte de fonction d’un organe. Alors que la plupart des agents anti-inflammatoires agissent par un mécanisme de blocage des voies pro-inflammatoires, OSE Immunotherapeutics développe un agent thérapeutique first-in-class, OSE-230, qui a le potentiel d’activer les voies de résolution physiologiques de l’inflammation chronique et de restaurer l’intégrité du tissu pathologique.

OSE-230 est un anticorps agoniste de ChemR23, ou « chemerin chemokine-like receptor 1 » (CMKLR1), un récepteur couplé aux protéines G (GPCR) exprimé sur les cellules immunitaires myéloïdes modulatrices de l’inflammation.